MLDRIN Governance

The process of forming  MLDRIN’S Governance

MLDRIN’s governance was formed by each of the Indigenous Nation selecting up to two delegates using their own internal governance structures.

The way a Nation does this depends on many things including their geography, population, history and experience with colonialism.

Some Indigenous Nations governance structures follow a genealogical approach. For example the Yorta Yorta peoples have an incorporated body based on family groupings. Each family group selects 2 Elders to sit on the Yorta Yorta Council of Elders which directs the incorporated body on cultural and natural resources management issues. The Yorta Yorta MLDRIN delegates are selected by the Yorta Yorta Council of Elders.

Another example is the Wamba Wamba Nation which straddles both sides of the Murray River and includes the major townships of Deniliquin (NSW) and Swan Hill (Victoria). The Wamba Wamba delegates are selected through organisational meetings in each of these towns – and both choose 1 delegate each.

All the MLDRIN delegates form the MLDRIN Confederation and must report back to their respective Nations and seek approval for decisions using their Governance structures. MLDRIN meets at least 3-4 times a year, with regular updates throughout.

MLDRIN Executive Board Members 2017/18

Chair: Rene Woods

Deputy Chair: Stephen Atkinson

Treasurer: Stewart Taylor

Secretary: Grant Rigney

Director: Kingsley Abdulla

Director: Alice Williams

Director: Coral Peckham

Executive Officer/Director: Will Mooney