Wamba Wamba Nation

Wamba Wamba Nation

Delegates: Stewart Taylor & Bella Kennedy


The Wamba Wamba Nation straddles both sides of the Murray River and takes in the sizable townships of Deniliquin, Moulamein and Swan Hill. As well as part of the Murray, Wamba Wamba country also includes the major tributaries of the Edward River and Wakool River.

On the Victorian side of the Murray, Wamba Wamba Nation are part of the North-West Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Group. On the NSW side of the River Murray Wamba Wamba people are represented by a number of organisations including the Wamba Wamba Local Aboriginal Land Council, Deniliquin Local Aboriginal Land Council and Yarkuwa Indigenous Knowledge Centre at Deniliquin. Yarkuwa is a traditional owner based organisation that carries out cultural programs including festivals, cultural heritage assessments and environmental management. The organisation recently won 2 awards from the Deniliquin Chamber of Commerce for Innovative Contribution by an Indigenous Organisation and the 2005 NSW Premier’s Bronze Award for Partnerships for its pioneering environmental management project in North Deniliquin State Forest.