Wiradjuri Nation

Wiradjuri Nation

Delegates: Aunty Coral Peckham, James Ingram & Wayne Carr

Website: www.wiradjuricondocorp.com


The Wiradjuri Nation is geographically the largest Indigenous Nation within NSW and it’s probably the largest in terms of population.

The boundary of the Wiradjuri Nation extends from Coonabarabran in the north, straddling the Great Dividing Range down to the Murray River and out to western NSW. Wiradjuri traditional country includes the townships of Dubbo, Condobolin, Orange, Bathurst, Wagga Wagga, Albury, Narrandera, and Griffith.

All of these centres have large populations of Wiradjuri traditional owners. There is also a significant Wiradjuri population in Sydney, particularly Western Sydney.

The Wiradjuri people are represented by the Wiradjuri Council of Elders and each community has established their own form of governance to represent local interests.

Prominent Wiradjuri people include the Aboriginal Warrior Windradyne, Paul Coe, Elders Ces, Florence and Stan Grant, Journalist Stan Grant, NRL Footballer David Peachey and NSW MP Linda Burney.